PDP Set to Query Senators Who Stayed Away During Voting On E-Transmission Of Results

Spread the love

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) is set to query senators elected on the platform of the party who stayed away on the day the Senate voted to decide the inclusion of electronic transmission of election results in the proposed amendments to the Electoral Act.

National Publicity Secretary of the PDP Kola Ologbondiyan disclosed this in an exclusive interview with The ICIR on July 27.

The national leadership of the PDP had endorsed the electronic transmission of election results and subsequently instructed its lawmakers in the National Assembly to push for the inclusion of a provision for transmission of election results by electronic means in the Electoral Act Amendment Bill.

However, the Senate on July 15 passed the amendment bill with a controversial Section 52(3), which stated that the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), with the approval of the National Assembly, would determine whether the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) could transmit results electronically or not.

Initially, Section 52(3), in the report submitted by the Senate Committee on INEC, had read: “The commission (INEC) may transmit results of elections by electronic means where and when practicable.”

But Aliyu Abdullahi (APC, Niger North) moved a motion, seconded by Aliyu Ndume (APC, Borno South). INEC should only consider electronic transmission if the national network coverage is adjudged to be adequate and secure by the NCC and approved by the National Assembly.

Some senators disagreed with Abdullahi’s motion, and to resolve the stalemate, the issue was subjected to public voting.

Abdullahi’s motion was adopted after 52 senators – comprising 50 from the APC and two from the PDP – voted to give NCC and the National Assembly the powers to determine whether INEC can transmit election results electronically.

As a result, Section 52(3) in the Electoral Act Amendment Bill passed by the Senate read: “INEC may consider electronic collation of results provided the national network coverage is adjudged to be adequate and secured by the Nigerian Communications Commission and approved by the National Assembly.”

There were reports that the leadership of the APC, concerned over the party’s chances in the forthcoming 2023 general elections, had instructed its members in the National Assembly to reject moves, supported by the majority of Nigerians, to have a provision for electronic transmission of election results included in the Electoral Act.

The two PDP senators that sabotaged their party’s position by voting against electronic transmission of election results are Stephen Odeh (PDP, Cross River North) and Shuaibu Lau (PDP, Taraba North).

Odeh is a loyalist of Cross River State Governor Ben Ayade, who recently defected to the APC. The lawmaker is yet to follow his principal to the ruling party, but he is currently engaged in a legal tussle with INEC as the commission had moved to remove him from the Senate by issuing a fresh Certificate of Return to his opponent in the senatorial election, Jarigbe Jarigbe, a member of the House of Representatives.

Lau was elected to the Senate through a court order in 2017 and won reelection under the PDP in March 2019. Reasons for his decision to vote against the interests of his party and that of the majority of Nigerians is not clear.

Apart from the two senators who joined forces with their APC colleagues to shoot down electronic transmission of election results, many other PDP members of the Senate also sabotaged their party’s position by staying away when voting on the matter.

The PDP senators that were absent on the day of the crucial vote include a former governor of Abia State Theodore Orji (PDP, Abia Central); Yaroe Binos Dauda (PDP, Adamawa South); a former minister of aviation Stella Oduah (PDP, Anambra North); former Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu (PDP, Enugu West); Nicholas Tofomowo (PDP, Ondo South); Uche Ekwunife (PDP, Anambra Central); a former governor of Benue State Gabriel Suswam (PDP, Benue North-East); Abba Moro (PDP, Benue South); Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP, Taraba South); and a former governor of Enugu State Chimaraoke Nnamani (PDP, Enugu East).

PDP National Working Committee probes ‘sabotage’, to summon, query disobedient senators

Indications have emerged that the national leadership of the PDP is probing the activities of the senators who undermined the party’s decision to support the electronic transmission of election results.

Speaking with The ICIR at the party’s national headquarters in Abuja on July 27, PDP spokesman Kola Ologbondiyan said the National Working Committee (NWC) has decided to summon and query the concerned senators.

“As a party, we have not ascertained why they (senators) did what they did but what we have done so far is we have decided to meet with them by calling a meeting of members of the National Assembly with the National Working Committee to demand the reasons for the actions taken by some of our members in respect of a very prominent decision of the party which is that all members of the party must vote in support of electronic transmission of results,” Ologbondiyan said.

Asked whether the decision to summon and query the lawmakers suggests that the party was probing the concerned senators, Ologbondiyan said, “I don’t know whether it should be called a probe, but I am aware that the hierarchy of the party is interested in knowing why some of our members acted the way they did.”

Further asked whether the party was considering sanctioning the concerned lawmakers, the PDP spokesman said, “I can’t talk about sanctions yet. We have to wait until the meeting is summoned and the issues are raised, and decisions are taken.”

A date is yet to be fixed for the planned meeting between the PDP lawmakers and the party’s NWC, but Ologbondiyan said the parley is likely to come up when members of the National Assembly, who are currently on recess, resume by September.

“Lawmakers are on recess until September. We have not decided on the date, whether to wait until after the recess or before they return from recess.”

For publication of your news content, articles, videos or advert placement, please send to profjaysblog@gmail.com. For more enquiry, please call or WhatsApp us on 08063615010.

You can support our Investigative Journalism work, by donating into ATA MEDIA, GTBANK, 0267485001

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: